Completing the Virginia Pharmacy Tech education and certification process provides pharmacy technicians with the opportunity to have a fulfilling career. Individuals that comply with the Virginia rules and regulations regarding how to become a pharmacy technician, including training and certification, have the potential opportunity to work in a rewarding career field.
Virginia Pharmacy Technician Certification Requirements
Virginia law and the Virginia Board of Pharmacy have specific regulations and guidelines that govern who may become a pharmacy technician in the state, and completion of Virginia pharmacy technician education, training, and certification. There are also specific laws regarding the required annual pharmacy technician recertification in the State of Virginia.
The pharmacy technician applicant must be at least 18 years of age and must comply with all other laws and regulations set forth by Virginia Administrative Law, including laws such as the following:
- Must submit a completed online application and submit application fee
- An applicant must present evidence of successful completion of an accredited training program
- Must present evidence of successful completion of a national certification exam administered by an approved board or association
- Register as a pharmacy technician trainee to gain practical experience while in training for completion of pharmacy technician requirements
- Must not perform any duties of a pharmacist technician without first being registered with the Virginia Board of Pharmacy
There are guidelines that allow individuals to work while they are in training to become a pharmacy technician. The state provides these regulations in the Virginia Administrative Code 18VAC110-21-140. The statute permits trainees to work in the capacity of a pharmacy technician for a period of time not to exceed nine consecutive months. This provision is granted to individuals that are currently enrolled in an approved pharmacy technician training program.
The State of Virginia requires that all pharmacy technicians renew their registration prior to December 31 of each year. If you obtain your initial registration number after July 1 of any year, you do not have to renew your registration until prior to December 31 of the next year. Failure to renew after one year requires the payment of a late fee in addition to completion of all other renewal requirements. The reinstatement of any pharmacy technician is at the discretion of the Virginia Board of Pharmacy.
Virginia Law also requires that all pharmacy technicians complete a minimum of five continuing pharmacy education (CPE) hours prior to the renewal of their pharmacy technician registration for the following year.
Pharmacy Technician Careers and Employment Outlook
There were more than 422,000 pharmacy technicians working across the U.S. in 2019, with the majority of them working at pharmacies and drug stores. Pharmacy technicians also held employment in hospitals, and in food and beverage stores.
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) indicates that the number of pharmacy technician job openings is expected to grow through 2029, with an anticipated 15,200 new jobs being added in the U.S. The median annual pay for pharmacy techs in 2019 was $33,950, which averages to $16.32 per hour. Perhaps there will be a growth in pay along with the anticipated job growth numbers.
Virginia Schools That Offer Pharmacy Technician Training Programs
Big Stone Gap, VA
Cedar Bluff, VA
Falls Church, VA
Newport News, VA
Weyers Cave, VA